Lemon Basil Hummus

To honor my Mom on Mother’s Day, I decided to spend some time in the kitchen and create a dish I knew she would enjoy…and one we would share on the back patio while drinking a glass of wine if we didn’t live several states apart.

TahiniEvery summer, my Mom grows fresh basil in large buckets. I immediately thought of her this afternoon when I spotted beautiful basil plants at the grocery store. She bought me my first food processor for Christmas, and I think of her each time I use it. With all of these “mom” elements in mind, I decided to make a lemon basil hummus, which paired perfectly with the white Chardonnay I opened, also in her honor.

Hummus  amazes me. It only takes a few ingredients to create an entirely different and flavorful rendition. Fresh basil and the juice of one lemon were all I added to the traditional hummus I typically make, and these two simple ingredients turned the hummus into something new for my taste buds. I tasted summer evenings on the back patio with my Mom, drinking wine as our dog chases chipmunks. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom! Thinking of you (as I eat).

hummus

Lemon Basil Hummus

Ingredients
2 15.5oz cans of chickpeas, rinsed and drained, juice reserved
3 tablespoons Tahini
Juice of 1 lemon
1 (packed) cup of fresh basil
2 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

1. When draining can of chickpeas, be sure to save the juice from both cans into a large bowl or cup.
2. Place chickpeas, Tahini, lemon juice, basil, and garlic into a food processor. Pulse until coarsely chopped.
3. Gradually add reserved chickpea juice, and pulse, until hummus reaches desired consistency. (You do not have to use all the reserved juice. I used about 1/2 of it).
4. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and add 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Pulse again until smooth.
5. Serve immediately, or refrigerate before serving.

Lemon Basil Hummus

This entry was posted in Greek, Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

