Spicy Gluten-Free Tofu Fried Rice

Measuring does not come naturally to me in the kitchen, which I have found to be a challenge when developing this blog. What’s the point if readers cannot recreate the dishes I am writing about in their own kitchens? My main method of cooking is throwing ingredients together and hoping for the best, which I have found to work quite well (eh, most of the time). A prime example of this method is a spicy fried rice I whipped up with various ingredients found in my fridge. Unfortunately, I didn’t take notes as I went along, so I am unable to include below how many ounces of mushrooms and tofu I used, and I had to approximate the amount of olive oil. My apologies. The bright side is that this recipe is easy to throw together, so you can embellish as you follow the “framework” I provide.  Going forward, I plan to cook alongside a notebook, scribbling notes a I go…

Fried Rice Fixins

Fried Rice used to be one of my favorite items to order off a Chinese takeout menu or at a Japanese hibachi restaurant. Enter this recipe, which includes three of favorite ingredients (well, lately): Kale, Tofu, and Mushrooms. In my attempt to create a healthy and gluten-free version of fried rice, I used kale, golden brown tofu, and sauteed mushrooms along with long grain rice and Sriracha. The final touch? Topping this fried rice concoction with an over easy egg.

After enjoying (err, inhaling) a bowl, I’d never order fried rice from a Chinese takeout menu again…even if I could!

Tofu Fried Rice

Spicy Gluten-Free Tofu Fried Rice

Ingredients
1 bunch of kale, rinsed and leaves torn from the stems into bite size pieces
1 package of Extra Firm Tofu, cubed
1 cup long grain rice, cooked according to package instructions
1 pre-packaged serving of fresh portobello mushrooms, sliced
About 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 egg (per serving)
Sriracha, to taste
Salt and pepper, to taste

1. Cook rice according to package instructions.
2. Sautee mushrooms in 1 tablespoon of olive oil until soft, about 5-7 minutes.
4. While mushrooms are sauteeing, cook cubed tofu in 1 tablespoon of olive oil until golden brown on both sides.
4. Steam kale in a large pot in a steamer basket until bright green and wilted.
5. When all of the components are cooked, toss together in a large pot along with minced garlic. Add 2 tablespoons of Sriracha sauce (or more, if you want even more heat), and cook on medium-low heat for ~5 minutes.
6. Cook an egg over easy, seasoning with salt and pepper to taste, and top over a bowl of fried rice.

This entry was posted in Asian Influence, Tofu, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

