The Best Gluten-Free Pizza in Creation

Okay, so the title is a bit hyperbolic, but that was my response after biting into the first slice while sitting on my balcony, bathing in the afternoon sunlight, and nursing a cold one: “This is the best pizza in creation.”

Not since my first blog post back in January have I ventured a second try at gluten-free pizza. While tasty, the crust just didn’t pan out the way I anticipated (pun intended, of course). The 8″ pizza crusts by Rustic Crust broke into pieces, rather than slicing cleanly, and didn’t bear the weight of the toppings. I made a grocery store pit stop on my way home from work yesterday, and as I scanned the gluten-free aisle, Rustic Crust beckoned me for a second chance. The weather was in Rustic Crust’s favor–sunny, nearly cloudless, and 70 degrees. I had a vision of sitting on that balcony with a slice of pizza, and when I have a vision, I make it happen.

I took a different approach to the crust this time around. Instead of applying the toppings and putting the pizza immediately in the oven, I brushed the crusts with olive oil and baked it in the oven first–sans toppings. After the crust turned golden brown, I took the pan out of the oven and dressed the crusts with simple, fresh, Italian ingredients: Diced tomatoes, fresh basil, and sharp, deli Provolone cheese.  A few minutes later, my taste buds zoomed me back to Italy. It was that good.

My favorite part about this recipe–aside from the simple, yet astoundingly flavorful ingredients–is that it is quick and easy. One day, when I am feeling particularly ambitious, I will make a gluten-free pizza crust from scratch. Until then, Rustic Crust will be my go-to crust…now that the two of us have become friends. The result was night and day from my first pizza endeavor. This time around, the pizza slices cut cleanly, and the crust had a crunch. Rustic Crust, you have found a spot on my “Gluten-Free Favorites” page. Feel special.

GF pizza

The Best Gluten-Free Pizza in Creation

Ingredients
Two 8″ gluten-free pizza crusts
1 14.5 oz can of unseasoned diced tomatoes
A few sprigs of fresh basil
Extra virgin olive oil (enough to lightly coat the crusts)
6 slices of sharp, deli Provolone
Garlic powder, minced onion flakes, and salt and pepper to taste

1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F.
2. Brush both crusts with extra virgin olive oil, and season with garlic powder, minced onion, salt, and pepper.
3. Bake both crusts on a baking sheet for 5-7 minutes, until golden brown.
4. Take crusts out of the oven and spoon diced tomatoes over the crusts. (You don’t have to use the entire can of diced tomatoes).
5. Snip a few fresh basil leaves over the tomatoes, then layer three slices of Provolone over each crust.
6. Bake for an additional 5 minutes until cheese is melted and golden brown on the edges.
7. Let cool for 5 minutes, then enjoy…with “a cold one.”

This entry was posted in Gluten-Free Challenge, Pizza, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment